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OIU agents urge summer concert attendees to be responsible 

 
(Columbus) – Once again this summer, top names in the music industry will be playing to sold out 
crowds at some of Ohio’s best and biggest concert venues, and multi-day music festivals.  
 
If you’re heading to one or more of these events, agents with the Ohio Department of Public Safety’s Ohio 
Investigative Unit want all concert-goers to remember to drink responsibly, don’t drink if you haven’t 
turned 21, and do not furnish alcohol to anyone under 21 or to anyone who is already intoxicated.  
 
For many of these concerts, OIU will have undercover agents working alongside local law enforcement 
officials, looking for various alcohol and also drug offenses.  
 
“Several concert-goers begin drinking hours before the show starts and are often extremely intoxicated by 
the time the opening act(s) takes the stage,” said Enforcement Commander Eric Wolf. “We want the 
concert experience to be safe and enjoyable for everyone inside the venue and outside by the tailgating 
and camping sites. By following the law everyone can have a safer and more enjoyable concert 
experience.” 
 
Anyone convicted of providing or purchasing alcohol to a person under 21 years of age may face a 
maximum sentence of six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.  
 
Another common violation agents see at concerts is the use of false identification. If you’re caught with a 
fake ID or if you have furnished your ID to someone to obtain alcohol, penalties may include six months in 
jail and/or $1,000 fine. Also, the person furnishing their ID could lose their driver license for a year.  
 
If you are under 21 and are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .02 percent or higher, a 
level that can be reached after just one or two drinks, you can be arrested. Punishment is suspension of 
your driver license for at least 90 days up to a maximum of two years, plus four points added to your 
driving record. Having an open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle is also illegal.    
 
Penalties for drug violations depend on the type and the amount of drugs. 
 
By stopping senseless tragedies associated with illegal underage alcohol consumption and public 
intoxication, we are committing to making a safer Ohio. If you have information about a bar; store or 
carryout selling beer and/or liquor to persons under the age of 21; or you have information of alcohol 
violations at a concert venue, please notify the Ohio Investigative Unit by calling #677 on your cell phone 
and your complaint will be investigated.  

# # # 
 

The Ohio Investigative Unit agents are plain-clothed fully sworn peace officers. OIU is charged with 
enforcing the state’s liquor laws and is the only state law enforcement agency specifically tasked with 
investigating food stamp fraud crimes. Agents also investigate tobacco violations. 
Follow OIU on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ohio-Investigative-Unit/165782203506269 
and on Twitter by logging onto http://twitter.com/Ohio_OIU.  


