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OlU agents work to create a safe homecoming season for Ohio’s high school students

(Columbus) - - Over the next few weeks many of Ohio’s high school students will attend
homecoming festivities. Often after the dances are over, students will gather at another location
for an after-party. Agents with the Ohio Investigative Unit want parents and students to know it
isn’t worth it to supply alcohol to minors or a place for teens to consume alcohol.

Parents who are hosting a party for their child’s friends should be aware of Ohio’s laws and the
consequences of breaking them. In the state of Ohio, parents cannot give alcohol to children who
are under 21, even with the other parents’ permission. It is illegal to knowingly permit anyone
under 21 to consume or possess alcohol on their property — whether it is a house, barn or an open
field.

“The risks of hosting a party for anyone under 21 is just too great, both criminally and civilly,”
Captain Gary Allen, commander of OIU says.

Anyone convicted of attempting to purchase alcohol as a minor, sharing in the cost, using false
identification or furnishing alcohol to a minor may face a maximum sentence of six months in
jail and/or a $1,000 fine. But those penalties can rise if a party guest is over-served and needs
medical attention, or if a guest leaves the party and causes a crash with life-threatening injuries.

Also, anyone under 21 years of age who is caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration of
.02 percent or more can be arrested. If convicted the individual could have his or her driver
license suspended for at least 90 days, up to a maximum of two years. Also, four points would be
added to their driving record.

Additionally, liquor permit premises need to be mindful of underage individuals attempting to
purchase beer — often with a false identification. Clerks should also lookout for individuals 21
and over purchasing alcohol for a person who is not yet 21. In Ohio it is illegal to share in the
cost of purchasing alcoholic beverages or attempt to do so — even if the sale is refused.
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The Ohio State Highway Patrol’s Ohio Investigative Unit agents are plain-clothed fully sworn
peace officers. OIU is charged with enforcing the state’s liquor laws and is the only state law
enforcement agency specifically tasked with investigating food stamp fraud crimes. Agents also
investigate tobacco violations. Follow OlU on Facebook at
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ohio-Investigative-Unit/165782203506269 and on Twitter by
logging onto http://twitter.com/Ohio_OIU.
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