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FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: April 4, 2016
Contact: Agent-in-Charge Michelle Thourot
(614) 644-2415 or (614) 752-2792

OIU Agents Remind Parents and Students of Ohio’s Alcohol Law Ahead of Prom

(Columbus) — Prom season in Ohio is about to get underway. High school students throughout
the state are getting prom plans in place — including what they will be doing after the prom.

In an effort to make this a safe prom season, agents with the Ohio State Highway Patrol’s Ohio
Investigative Unit (OIU) hope parents and students make the decision not to participate in illegal
and dangerous behavior, such as providing alcohol to minors and consuming underage.

“No matter how safe you believe your home party will be for your child and his/her friends,
providing a place for illegal behavior can be recipe for disaster,” said Captain Gary Allen,
commander of OIU. “Prom is a rite of passage. Students and parents should not put their futures
in jeopardy for an after prom party.”

To help foster good choices, parents and teens need to understand Ohio’s underage drinking
laws.

e Itis illegal to provide a place for your child and his/her friends to drink in a “safe”
environment. In fact, parents may not provide alcohol to children who are under 21, who
are not their own, even in their own home with the other parents' permission. Those
convicted of providing alcohol to a person under 21 years of age face maximum
sentences of six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.

e ltisillegal to purchase alcohol for anyone under 21. Anyone who purchases, sells or
gives alcoholic beverages to underage individuals faces a $1,000 fine and/or up to six
months in jail.

e If you are under 21 and are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .02
percent or higher, a level that can be reached after just one or two drinks, you can be
arrested. Punishment is suspension of your driver license for at least 90 days up to a
maximum of two years, plus four points added to your driving record. Having an open
container of alcohol in a motor vehicle is also illegal.

Also, carry outs and drive-through establishments should be on alert for underage individuals
attempting to purchase alcohol. Agents remind liquor permit staff to ensure they are making a
good faith effort to verify the purchaser’s age. Agents also recommend limo companies review
policies with their drivers and ensure they know they may also be charged with permitting
underage consumption.
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Together, we must commit to making a safer Ohio, by stopping senseless tragedies associated
with irresponsible and illegal underage alcohol consumption. If you have information about a
bar; store or carryout selling beer and/or liquor to persons under the age of 21; or you have

information of an underage house party, please notify the Ohio Investigative Unit by calling the
#677 on your cell phone and your complaint will be investigated.

HH#
The Ohio State Highway Patrol’s Ohio Investigative Unit agents are plain-clothed fully sworn
peace officers. OlIU is charged with enforcing the staze’s liguor laws and is the only state law
enforcement agency specifically tasked with investigating food stamp fraud crimes. Agents also
investigate tobacco violations. Follow OIU on Facebook at

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ohio-Investigative-Unit/165782203506269 and on Twitter by
logging onto http://twitter.com/Ohio_OIU.
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