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OIU agents urge summer concert attendees to be responsible 

 

(Columbus) – Throughout Ohio, outdoor concert venues are gearing up for a busy concert season and 

several multi-day music festivals. If you’re heading to one or more of these events, agents with the Ohio 

Investigative Unit want all concert-goers to remember to drink responsibly, don’t drink if you haven’t 

turned 21, and do not furnish alcohol to anyone under 21 or to anyone who is already intoxicated.  

 

For many of these concerts, OIU will have undercover agents working alongside local law enforcement 

officials, looking for various alcohol and drug offenses both inside and outside the concert venues.  

 

“We want the concert experience to be safe and enjoyable for everyone inside the venue and outside by 

the tailgating and camping sites,” said Captain Gary Allen. “By following the law everyone can have a 

safe and more enjoyable concert experience.” 

 

In April, agents worked the annual #s Fest in Athens where 133 people were charged. In May, agents 

charged 118 during Rock on the Range at Mapfre Stadium in Columbus and 11 were charged at Blossom 

Music Center during a recent Kenny Chesney Concert. A majority of the violations at these concert 

events were underage related. Other violations agents issued during these events include charges related 

to marijuana and false identification.  

 

Anyone convicted of providing or purchasing alcohol to a person under 21 years of age may face a 

maximum sentence of six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.  

 

Another common violation agents see at concerts is the use of false identification. If you’re caught with a 

fake ID or if you have furnished your ID to someone to obtain alcohol, penalties may include six months 

in jail and/or $1,000 fine. Also, the person furnishing their ID could lose their driver license for a year.  

 

If you are under 21 and are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .02 percent or higher, a 

level that can be reached after just one or two drinks, you can be arrested. Punishment is suspension of 

your driver license for at least 90 days up to a maximum of two years, plus four points added to your 

driving record. Having an open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle is also illegal.    

 

Penalties for drug violations depend on the type and the amount of drugs. 

 

# # # 

The Ohio State Highway Patrol’s Ohio Investigative Unit agents are plain-clothed fully sworn peace 

officers. OIU is charged with enforcing the state’s liquor laws and is the only state law enforcement 

agency specifically tasked with investigating food stamp fraud crimes. Agents also investigate tobacco 

violations. Follow OIU on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ohio-Investigative-

Unit/165782203506269 and on Twitter by logging onto http://twitter.com/Ohio_OIU.  
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