OHIO BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES

YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DRIVER LICENSE

IF YOU DRIVE WITHOUT INSURANCE
OR OTHER ACCEPTABLE FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY COVERAGE

www.OPLATES.com

e In Ohio, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without insurance or other financial responsibility (FR) coverage.
e ltis also illegal for any motor vehicle owner to allow anyone else to drive the owner’s vehicle without FR coverage.

e PROOF OF COVERAGE IS REQUIRED: e Whenever a police officer issues a traffic ticket e At all vehicle inspection stops e Upon
traffic court appearances and e Upon random checks by the Registrar of Motor Vehicles.

e ANY DRIVER OR OWNER WHO FAILS TO SHOW PROOF OF INSURANCE OR OTHER COVERAGE WILL: e Lose his or her
driver license until requirements are met on first offense, ONE YEAR on second offense and TWO YEARS on additional offenses
e Lose his or her license plates and vehicle registration ® Pay reinstatement fees of $100.00 for first offense, $300.00 for second
offense, $600.00 for third and subsequent offenses ® Pay a $50.00 penalty for any failure to surrender his or her driver license, license
plates, or registration AND e Be required to maintain special FR coverage (“High-risk” insurance or equivalent) on file with the Bureau
of Motor Vehicles (BMV) for THREE or FIVE YEARS.

e ONCE THIS SUSPENSION IS IN EFFECT: Any driver or owner who violates the suspension will have his or her vehicle immobilized
and his or her license plates confiscated for at least 30 DAYS first offense and 60 DAYS second offense. For third or subsequent
offenses, the vehicle will be forfeited and sold and the person will not be permitted to register any motor vehicle in Ohio for FIVE
YEARS.

e |F YOU ARE INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITHOUT INSURANCE OR OTHER FR COVERAGE: In addition to all the penalties
listed above, you may have ¢ A SECURITY SUSPENSION for TWO YEARS or more and ¢ A JUDGMENT SUSPENSION
INDEFINITELY (until all damages have been satisfied).

e THESE PENALTIES ARE IN ADDITION TO ANY FINES OR PENALTIES IMPOSED BY A COURT OF LAW.

e  WARNING: THESE LAWS DO NOT PREVENT THE POSSIBILITY THAT YOU MAY BE INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH A
PERSON WHO HAS NO INSURANCE OR OTHER FR COVERAGE.

e WHEN REQUIRED, PROOF OF COVERAGE MAY BE SHOWN BY ANY OF THE FOLLOWING: e AN INSURANCE POLICY
showing automobile liability insurance of at least $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 injury two or more persons, and $25,000
property damage ¢ AN INSURANCE IDENTIFICATION CARD (same coverage) ® A SURETY BOND OF $30,000 issued by any
authorized surety company or insurance company ® A BMV BOND SECURED BY REAL ESTATE having equity of at least $60,000
e A BMV CERTIFICATE FOR MONEY OR GOVERNMENT BONDS in the amount of $30,000 on deposit with the Ohio Treasurer of

State ¢ A BMV CERTIFICATE OF SELF-INSURANCE, available only to companies or persons who own at least twenty-six motor
vehicles.
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If applying for a driver license or permit, | affirm that | now have insurance or other financial responsibility coverage and that |
will not operate any motor vehicle without FR coverage, and that | received an FR coverage notice form.

If registering a motor vehicle, | affirm that all owners (or lessees of leased vehicles) now have insurance or other FR
coverage and will not operate or permit the operation of this motor vehicle without FR coverage.
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