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New Ohio Residents
Welcome to Ohio! You are considered an Ohio resident once you: 
take a job, sign a lease, buy a home or enroll children in school. 
Within 30 days of establishing residency, you will need an Ohio 
driver license for yourself, and an Ohio title and license plates 
for your vehicle. For detailed information, please visit the Ohio 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles online at bmv.ohio.gov.

You will need to bring the following…
•	 Your vehicle’s original title or memorandum of title

Please  note: If your vehicle has two owners and one cannot be 
present, you will also need two signed powers of attorney (one 
for the title and one for the registration). The power of attorney 
for title will need to be notarized. For registration purposes, 
you may use a signed, notarized power of attorney form, or 
an Authorization to Register (form BMV 5736) which does not 
require notarization and may be found at bmv.ohio.gov.

•	 Your vehicle loan contract (if applicable)
•	 Your current out-of-state driver license
•	 Proof of your full legal name*
•	 Proof of your Social Security number
•	 Proof of Ohio residency (e.g., bank statement, utility bill or 

pay stub listing your Ohio address)
•	 Proof of citizenship or legal presence
•	 If under 18 years of age, proof of driver education and a 

cosigner (parent or legal guardian) 

*If your full legal name is inconsistent on the documents 
presented, you must provide additional documents to establish 
your full legal name. The following documents are acceptable:

෮෮ Marriage certificate or license 
෮෮ Certified copy of a decree of divorce, dissolution or 

annulment of marriage 
෮෮ Certified copy of a court-ordered name change. 

Please visit bmv.ohio.gov  for more information 
about identity documents.

http://bmv.ohio.gov
http://bmv.ohio.gov
http://bmv.ohio.gov
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Get an Ohio Driver License
The Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws will help you learn Ohio’s 
laws. You can get a copy: 

•	At any deputy registrar license agency

•	 Online at bmv.ohio.gov

To convert your out-of-state driver license to an Ohio driver 
license, you will need to visit a deputy registrar license agency. 

You will need to bring proof of the following…
•	 Full legal name

•	 Date of birth

•	 Legal presence in the United States

•	 Social Security number

•	 Ohio street address

Under Age 18?
Before you can become licensed in Ohio, you must:

•	 Provide proof of six months of driving experience (with at 
least 50 hours of driving, including 10 hours at night)

•	 Provide proof you’ve completed a driver education course 
that meets Ohio’s driver education requirements

•	 Have a co-signer (parent or legal guardian) with you

To see if your driver education course qualifies in Ohio, visit 
any driver examination station with your current license and 
your driver training certificate of completion. If you meet Ohio 
requirements, you can begin testing.

After you have successfully completed the testing, proceed to a 
deputy registrar license agency with:

•	 Your valid out-of-state driver license

•	 Proof of Ohio residency

•	 Proof of citizenship or legal presence

First-Time Driver or Expired Driver License
You will be required to pass a vision screening and a knowledge 
test at a driver examination station before you can purchase a 
Temporary Instructional Permit Identification Card (TIPIC).

You will be required to provide proof of your:

•	 Full legal name

•	 Date of birth

•	 Citizenship or legal presence

•	 Social Security number

•	 Residential street address

Please visit bmv.ohio.gov for more information.

http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/forms-general.aspx
http://bmv.ohio.gov/locations.aspx
http://bmv.ohio.gov
http://bmv.ohio.gov/locations.aspx
http://bmv.ohio.gov/locations.aspx
http://bmv.ohio.gov
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How to Title Your Vehicle
Before you can register your vehicle and obtain license plates in 
Ohio, you need to convert your out-of-state title to an Ohio title.

Please note: If your vehicle has two owners and one cannot be 
present, you must bring a signed, notarized power of attorney 
with you.

•	 Social Security numbers are required for all parties.

•	 Photocopies of a title are not accepted.

•	 If your lienholder has your title, you first must complete a 
transfer request form (available from a County Clerk of Courts 
Title Office) and send it to your lienholder.

•	 For out-of-state leasing dealers, a leasing permit number 
and a valid Ohio use tax account number (99-XXXXXX) are 
required. 

Prior to completing the title transfer, you must verify the 
accuracy of the odometer listing and all other information on the 
certificate of title.

What Do I Need to Bring to the Title Office? 
•	 Your out-of-state title certificate

•	Acceptable identification documents and payment for title 
fees (please contact your County Clerk of Courts Title Office 
for details) 

•	An out-of-state vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection 
form; inspections can be done at Ohio deputy registrar 
license agencies and many car dealerships (fees apply) 

•	A lien release from your lienholder (if you don’t have the paper 
title showing the lien discharge signed by your lienholder) 

•	 For lease transactions only, two original powers of attorney 
from the lessor (one to obtain an Ohio title and one to obtain 
the vehicle registration and license plates) 

•	 Odometer statement 

•	Application(s) for Certificate of Title to a Motor Vehicle (form 
BMV 3774) 

How to Register Your Vehicle
To register your vehicle in Ohio, go to a deputy registrar license 
agency and present your:

•	 Ohio Certificate of Title or Memorandum of Title

•	 Ohio driver license, state ID or Social Security number

•	Tax ID number (if the vehicle is titled in a business name)

•	 Lease agreement and power of attorney documents (if 
applicable)

•	 E-Check certificate (affected counties: Cuyahoga, Geauga, 
Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, Summit; call  1-800-CAR-TEST 
for more information)

Please note: If your vehicle has two owners and one cannot be 
present, you must bring a signed, notarized power of attorney 
form or an Authorization to Register (form BMV 5736) with you.

Please visit bmv.ohio.gov for more information, including fees.

http://bmv.ohio.gov/locations.aspx
http://bmv.ohio.gov/locations.aspx
http://bmv.ohio.gov
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Pertinent Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws

Safety Belts
Drivers and front-seat occupants of most passenger vehicles must 
wear safety belts. For drivers under 18 years of age, all vehicle 
occupants must wear safety belts.

Exemptions:

•	 Children covered by the child restraint law

•	 People operating vehicles to deliver mail or newspapers for 
home delivery

•	 People who carry an affidavit from their physician describing 
any medical condition(s) that preclude safety belt use

•	 People in vehicles manufactured before 1966

Child Restraint Law
Any child less than four years of age or weighing less than 40 
pounds is required to use a child safety restraint that meets 
federal motor vehicle standards while being transported in a 
motor vehicle.

Children ages 4 - 8 must be properly restrained in a booster seat 
while being transported in a motor vehicle.

Children ages 8 - 15 must be properly restrained with a safety belt 
while being transported in a motor vehicle.

Driver License
Driver licenses are valid for four years and expire on your birthday.

There is no grace period. Commercial driver licenses are required 
for operators of a commercial motor vehicle.

Financial Responsibility Law
No one can operate a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. 
Liability coverage of $25,000 - $50,000 for personal injury or 
death and $25,000 for property damage is required.

If you are involved in a crash that causes injuries or more than 
$400 in damage and the other party is uninsured, you may file a 
Crash Report (form BMV 3303) to suspend the driving privileges 
of the other party.

Non-Residents
A non-resident may operate a motor vehicle without Ohio 
registration as long as the state or country he or she is from 
provides reciprocal privileges. Non-resident military personnel 
may use their home state driver license. Family members must 
obtain an Ohio driver license.

Alcoholic Beverages
An open alcoholic beverage container in a vehicle is prohibited.

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
All drivers can be charged with driving under the influence of 
drugs or alcohol if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 
percent or higher. 

Drivers under age 21 with a BAC of .02 percent or more, but 
less than .08 percent, can face penalties under a charge called 
Operating a Vehicle after Underage Alcohol Consumption 
(OVUAC). 

Commercial drivers can be charged for a BAC of .04 percent or 
higher.
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License Plates
Front and rear license plates are required for all cars, trucks 
and motor homes unless the vehicle has been registered as a 
historical vehicle.

Studded Tires
Studded tires are permitted from November 1 to April 15.

Window Tinting
For vehicle windshields, tinting must allow for 70 percent light 
transmission. For side windows, tinting must allow for 50 percent 
light transmission, plus or minus 3 percent.

Open Cargo Law
For children under age 16, riding in the back of an open cargo 
storage area of a truck or trailer traveling over 25 miles per hour 
is illegal.

Motorcycles
Riding without a valid motorcycle license, endorsement, or 
temporary permit is against the law. Cab-enclosed motorcycles 
do not require an endorsement.

Helmets are required for riders under age 18 and those who 
have held a motorcycle license or endorsement for less than one 
year. Helmets are not required for cab-enclosed motorcycles. 
Protective goggles/glasses or wind screens are required.

Earphones
The use of earphones while driving a motor vehicle is illegal, 
except for motorcycle operators using them for communication 
purposes.

Motorized Bicycle License
A motorized bicycle license may be issued to anyone age 14 and 
older who passes prescribed vision, written and skill tests.

Radar
State law does not require the posting of radar enforcement. 
Except in commercial vehicles, radar detectors are legal but not 
recommended.

Camping
Camping in rest areas is prohibited.

Disabled Parking Areas
Persons with disabilities can obtain license plates or a window 
placard allowing them to park in disabled parking areas.
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