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OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

 

USED MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER 
 APPLICATION FOR ADDRESS CHANGE 

 

 

INCOMPLETE INFORMATION WILL RESULT IN THE DELAY OF PROCESSING YOUR APPLICATION. 

Change of status notice is required in writing, within 15 days of the change according to Ohio Revised Code (R.C.) 4517.23. 

 Change of Address  Add / Remove a P.O. Box  

CURRENT INFORMATION 
EXACT BUSINESS NAME 
      

DEALER PERMIT # 
      

DEALER PLATE # 
      

REGISTERED DBA OR TRADE NAME 
      

BUSINESS TELEPHONE 
      

CURRENT BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS 
      

P.O. BOX 
      

E-MAIL ADDRESS (OPTIONAL) 
      

CITY 
      

STATE 
      

ZIP CODE 
      

COUNTY 
      

INITIAL 
 

Note: The issuance of a used motor vehicle dealer’s license does not supersede building codes and local zoning. The State of 
Ohio (BMV) Dealer Licensing Section is the regulator of motor vehicle dealers, but does not pre-empt the enforcement by local 
authorities of zoning, building codes, health, safety codes, or laws. It is recommended that each applicant check building and 
zoning regulations applicable to the proposed facility with their local authority prior to making application. Evidence of building 
and zoning requirements must be presented upon the request of the registrar. 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS 
NEW BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS 
      

P.O. BOX 
      

BUSINESS TELEPHONE 
      

CITY 
      

STATE 
      

ZIP CODE 
      

COUNTY 
      

Contact your County Auditor to determine if a new vendor’s number is required. 
NEW VENDOR’S NUMBER ( IF APPLICABLE) 

      

 

ADD OR REMOVE P.O. BOX 
*P.O. BOX 
       ADD 

P.O. BOX 
       REMOVE 

*Must be within the same city and zip code of the physical address. P.O. Box change only does not require an inspection.
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QUESTIONS RELATED TO DEALERSHIP LOCATION 

I, as owner, partner, president, member, trustee, or principal owner agree to answer each of the following questions 
truthfully to the best of my knowledge. I acknowledge responsibility for any misrepresentation on behalf of all 
persons listed in the ownership information section. 

  Yes    No 1. Does the business listed on this application have a net worth of at least seventy five thousand ($75,000) dollars? 

No dealer shall be issued a motor vehicle dealer’s license or permitted to operate under a license unless the 
dealer has a net worth (Net Worth = Assets minus Liabilities) in the sum of $75,000, and must be verifiable upon 
request of the Registrar. 

Net worth must be maintained during the entire period for which the license is held. 

  Yes    No 2. Does the established place of business include a display lot of at least three thousand five hundred (3,500) square 
feet, not including driveways or office, and have adequate ground cover of a hard surface (gravel, concrete, etc.) 
that is free of the collection of dust, mud, water, or other unsightly conditions? 

OR 

  Yes    No Does the established place of business have a retail sales inventory that is limited at all times to ten vehicles or 
less, have sufficient space for all vehicles being offered for retail sale, and have adequate ground cover of a hard 
surface (gravel, concrete, etc.) that is free of the collection of dust, mud, water, or other unsightly conditions? 

  Yes    No 3. Is the dealership’s established place of business being used exclusively for the purpose of offering for sale, 
displaying for sale, dealing in motor vehicles and is identifiable as a motor vehicle dealership? 
 
A dealership may be considered used exclusively for the purpose of dealing in motor vehicles, even though certain 
departments are maintained there, provided that those departments are part of the dealership and are operated in 
support of the dealership. Those departments may include, but not limited to, parts, service, paint, and repair. 

  Yes    No 4. Is the established place of business separated with a permanent physical barrier from any other unrelated 
business, primary service facility or residence, including a business operating from the building in which the office 
is housed and / or any other building on the proposed location? 

A permanent physical barrier is a fixture or feature of the property that distinguishes the display lot or area from the 
residences or other business, compromised of metal, brick, stone, concrete, wood, heavy support cable, 
landscaping, curbing, or other comparable feature that creates a distinct space for the display lot. 

If no requirement is able to be met, please refer to the dealer licensing Web site, available licenses, permits & 
licenses issued (used motor vehicle dealer section) for further instruction. 

The separation MUST be maintained as approved during the entire period for which license is held. 

  Yes    No 5. To your knowledge, was the proposed business location previously occupied by another licensed motor vehicle 
dealer? 

If “yes”, give the business name, if available.          

  Yes    No 6. Are you or do you intend on sharing the proposed business location with another licensed motor vehicle dealer? 

* If “yes”, give the business name.          

(*A Certificate of Compliance form (BMV 4347) must be submitted with this application) 

  Yes    No 7. Is there a permanent office of at least one hundred eighty (180) square feet of usable office area that is located on 
the display lot and kept in a neat and orderly fashion? 

The law requires that the office incudes adequate lighting, electrical service, heating, and ventilation that is secure 
and safe, at minimum a desk, three chairs, and a filing cabinet or similar furnishings that creates an environment 
conducive to transacting business, and facilitating the storage of records. 

  Yes    No 8. Is there a sign that displays the business name in which the application is made, including any registered trade 
names? 

The law requires that the letters be no less than six (6) inches high, and the sign be permanent, properly 
maintained, and prominently displayed by the entrance of the office, if not visible from the public roadway. 

  Yes    No 9. In addition to the established place of business is there an expanded display lot? 

NOTE: The expanded display lot is a separate lot that must be two thousand (2,000) square feet of a hard surface 
that is adjacent to or within two hundred (200) feet of the right-of-way of the dealership’s established place of 
business, and includes a prominently displayed, permanent sign in the exact business name in which the 
application is made, with lettering at least six (6) inches high. All transactions related to the sale of motor vehicles 
shall be conducted at the principal place of business. 
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DEALERSHIP BUSINESS AFFIRMATION 
INITIAL 

I affirm that as required in Chapter 4517 of the R.C. and Chapter 4501:1-3 of the Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.), will 
adhere to all provisions listed below upon issuance and for the duration of the license. Failure to maintain compliance with 
such provisions may be immediately referred to the Motor Vehicle Dealers Board for possible suspension or revocation of 
the license. 

1. All records of sales transactions, mileage disclosure statements, or temporary tag records (if applicable), will be 
maintained for three years and available upon request of the registrar or his authorized agent. 

2. The dealer permit will be posted in a conspicuous place and a current list of salespersons will be available upon 
request. 

3. The business hours will be maintained and legibly posted in a conspicuous place near the entrance of the office.  

4. The office will be staffed by an owner or salesperson that holds a license under Chapter 4517 of the R.C. during the 
posted business hours for the entire time the license is held. 

5. A business telephone will be in service at all times and answered in the dealership’s name. The business telephone 
number will be legibly posted in a conspicuous place in public view. 

PHOTOGRAPHS 
Required at the time of application, the applicant must provide clear photographs via mail or e-mail (JPG format) of the location showing: 

(1)   the display lot (3,500 Sq. Ft. or space for retail vehicles) 
(2)   the separation from another business and/or residence 
(3)   the office (inside and outside)  
(4)   the sign with the business name, including any registered trade names 
(5)   the posted business hours 
(6)   the posted business telephone number 
(7)   the expanded display lot (if applicable) 

 
 

PHOTOS MAY BE SUBMITTED BY MAIL WITH THE APPLICATION OR BY E-MAIL TO 
dealerphotos@dps.ohio.gov 

 

Dealers must file application within fifteen (15) days after any change of status to 
personnel of owners, name change, and relocation of the business pursuant to 

R.C. 4517.23. 
 

Make checks payable to “Ohio Treasurer Of State.” FEES 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER PERMIT (REQUIRED) $ 2.00 

AMENDED REGISTRATION CARDS MASTER PLATE + ADDITIONAL PLATES     $1.00 x       
(REQUIRED, IF ISSUED LICENSE PLATES) 

$       

GRAND TOTAL FEE $       
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It is understood that a physical inspection will be performed by BMV Investigations prior to or after the issuance of the license at the 
discretion of the Registrar. 

I understand that if the licensed location fails to meet any of the requirements, it will immediately be referred to the Motor Vehicle Dealers 
Board for possible suspension or revocation of the license 

I understand that the registrar of motor vehicles must be notified if any change of status of the licensed location, including but not limited 
to, personnel of ownership, relocation of the place of business, posted business hours, and business telephone number. 

I affirm that the motor vehicles owned by this business will be insured or have other financial responsibility coverage, will not be operated 
without financial responsibility coverage and will not be used as commercial vehicles unless so registered. 

I also affirm that all statements in the foregoing application and in any additional documentation are true and correct and that I, as owner, 
as a partner, president, member, trustee, or principal owner have the authority to sign this application and to make the statements 
contained herein. 

 

PRINTED OR TYPED NAME OF SIGNER 

      

TITLE 

      

SIGNATURE (OWNER, PARTNER, PRESIDENT, MEMBER, TRUSTEE, OR PRINCIPAL OWNER) 

X 

DATE OF APPLICATION 

      

 

NOTARY 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this    day of   ,    in the 

county of      State of Ohio. 

 

(SEAL) 

 

My commission expires         X       
                   SIGNATURE  

 

RETURN THE COMPLETED APPLICATION, PHOTOS, 
OTHER SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS, AND FEES TO: 

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
Attention: Dealer Licensing Section 

P.O. Box 16521 
Columbus, Ohio 43216-6521 

For additional information and laws visit our Web site at www.ohioautodealers.com. 
 


