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OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

 
APPLICATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR FREE BOAT TRAILER PLATES 

 

 
TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY 
PLATE # 
      

VEH YR 
      

MAKE 
      

TYPE 
      

SERIAL # 
      

PURCHASE DATE 
      

NAME 
      

SOCIAL SECURITY #, OHIO DL OR ID# 
      

ADDRESS (STREET) 
      

TELEPONE NO. 

(     )   
CITY 
      

COUNTY 
      

STATE  

OH 
ZIP CODE 
      

SIGNATURE 

X  

DATE 

 
NEW ISSUANCE INSTRUCTIONS 
Return this application with the following: 
   Affidavit for Registration. 
   Manufacturers Statement of Origin or Certificate of Origin. 
  Official weight slip or copy of previous owner’s Ohio Non-Commercial Registration with notarized original weight affidavit (BMV 5728). 

RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS 
1.   If the applicant Is a Disabled Veteran: 
      A letter from the Veterans Administration stating that the applicant is 100% service-connected disabled,   
      permanently and totally disabled or has been awarded funds towards the purchase of a motor vehicle   
      under federal law. 

2.   If the applicant Is a Former Prisoner of War: 
      A copy of your Honorable Discharge or Record of Separation (DD214) and any of the following documents  
      showing evidence of Prisoner of War Status: 
 A.   Letter from War Claims Commission. 
 B.   Telegram advising family of POW status. 
  C.   Documentary evidence of POW status from one of the Armed Forces. 

3.   If the applicant has been awarded a Congressional Medal of Honor: 
      Any documentary evidence of Award from one of the Armed Forces to the United States. 

*If you wish to display your plates on a different trailer than was previously registered, you must complete an Application for Transfer of 
Disabled Veteran POW (BMV 4506) and complete the requirements listed above. 

Contact this office at (614) 752-7518 for more information or go to www.ohiobmv.com 

Submit all information to: The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Attn: Gratis Unit, P.O. BOX 16521, Columbus, Ohio 43216-6521. 
YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DRIVER LICENSE FOR AT LEAST 90 DAYS IF YOU DRIVE WITHOUT INSURANCE OR OTHER ACCEPTABLE FINANCIAL 
RESPONSIBILITY COVERAGE 
 

 In Ohio, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without insurance or other financial responsibility (FR) coverage. 

 It is also illegal for any motor vehicle owner to allow anyone else to drive the owner’s vehicle without FR coverage. 

 PROOF OF COVERAGE IS REQUIRED: Whenever a police officer issues a traffic ticket At all vehicle inspection stops Upon traffic court appearances and Upon 
random checks by the Registrar of Motor Vehicles. 

 ANY DRIVER OR OWNER WHO FAILS TO SHOW PROOF OF INSURANCE OR OTHER COVERAGE WILL: Lose his or her driver license for 90 DAYS on first 
offense, ONE YEAR on second offense and TWO YEARS on additional offenses Lose his or her license plates and vehicle registration  Pay reinstatement fees of 
$100.00 for first offense, $300.00 for second offense, $600.00 for third and subsequent offenses Pay a $50.00 penalty for any failure to surrender his or her driver 
license, license plates, or registration AND Be required to maintain special FR coverage (“High-risk” insurance or equivalent) on file with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
(BMV) for THREE or FIVE YEARS. 

 ONCE THIS SUSPENSION IS IN EFFECT: Any driver or owner who violates the suspension will have his or her vehicle immobilized and his or her license plates 
confiscated for at least 30 DAYS first offense and 60 DAYS second offense. For third or subsequent offenses, the vehicle will be forfeited and sold and the person will 
not be permitted to register any motor vehicle in Ohio for FIVE YEARS. 

 IF YOU ARE INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITHOUT INSURANCE OR OTHER FR COVERAGE: In addition to all the penalties listed above, you may have A 
SECURITY SUSPENSION for TWO YEARS or more and A JUDGMENT SUSPENSION INDEFINITELY (until all damages have been satisfied).  

 THESE PENALTIES ARE IN ADDITION TO ANY FINES OR PENALTIES IMPOSED BY A COURT OF LAW. 
 

 WARNING: THESE LAWS DO NOT PREVENT THE POSSIBILITY THAT YOU MAY BE INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH A PERSON WHO HAS NO 
INSURANCE OR OTHER FR COVERAGE. 

 WHEN REQUIRED, PROOF OF COVERAGE MAY BE SHOWN BY ANY OF THE FOLLOWING: AN INSURANCE POLICY showing automobile liability insurance of 
a least $12,500 bodily injury per person, $25,000 injury two or more persons, and $7,500 property damage AN INSURANCE IDENTIFICATION CARD (same 
coverage) A SURETY BOND OF $30,000 issued by any authorized surety company or insurance company A BMV BOND SECURED BY REAL ESTATE having 
equity of at least $60,000  A BMV CERTIFICATE FOR MONEY OR GOVERNMENT BONDS in the amount of $30,000 on deposit with the Ohio Treasurer of State A 
BMV CERTIFICATE OF SELF-INSURANCE, available only to companies or persons who own at least twenty-six motor vehicles. 

If applying for a driver license or permit, I affirm that I now have insurance or other financial responsibility coverage and that I will not operate any motor vehicle without FR 
coverage, and that I received an FR coverage notice form. 
If registering a motor vehicle, I affirm that all owners (or lessees of leased vehicles) now have insurance or other FR coverage and will not operate or permit the operation of 
this motor vehicle without FR coverage. 
SIGNATURE  
 
X 

DATE 
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