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OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

 

APPLICATION FOR COLLECTOR’S LICENSE PLATES 

 

 

TYPE OR PRINT 
OHIO LICENSE PLATE # CURRENTLY DISPLAYED 
      

EXPIRATION DATE 
      

LICENSE PLATE # OF PRINCIPAL MEANS OF 
TRANSPORTATION       

EXPIRATION DATE 
      

DEPUTY REGISTRAR NAME AND NUMBER 
      

CERTIFICATION OF TITLE INSPECTED BY 
      

DATE PURCHASED 
      

VEH YEAR 
      

VEH MAKE 
      

VEH TYPE 
      

VEH SERIAL # 
      

CERTIFICATE OF TITLE # 
      

COLOR 
      

 

OWNER NAME  
      

DAYTIME PHONE # 
      

DATE OF BIRTH 
      

SSN / TIN / OH DL / OH ID 
      

OHIO ADDRESS 
       

CITY 
      

STATE 

OHIO 
ZIP CODE 
      

VEHICLE OWNERSHIP      SINGLE    JOINT    LEASED    COMPANY 

JOINT OWNER / LESSEE NAME 
      

SS# OR TAX ID# 
      

OHIO COUNTY OF RESIDENCE 
      

OWNER BUSINESS ADDRESS 
      

CITY 
      

STATE 
      

ZIP CODE 
      

INCORPORATED CITY 

      

INDICATE TOWNSHIP ONLY IF YOU  
LIVE OUTSIDE CORPORATION LIMITS 
      

TOWNSHIP 

      
IS YOUR LICENSE PLATE REGISTRATION UNDER SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION UNDER OHIO FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY LAW? 

 YES  NO 
 

MAILING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT FROM THAT SHOWN ABOVE
STREET ADDRESS 
      

CITY 
      

STATE 
      

ZIP CODE 
      

PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 
 

YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DRIVER LICENSE IF YOU DRIVE WITHOUT INSURANCE OR OTHER ACCEPTABLE FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY COVERAGE 
 

• In Ohio, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without insurance or other financial responsibility (FR) coverage. 
 

• It is also illegal for any motor vehicle owner to allow anyone else to drive the owner’s vehicle without FR coverage. 
 

• PROOF OF COVERAGE IS REQUIRED: • Whenever a police officer issues a traffic ticket • At all vehicle inspection stops • Upon traffic court appearances and • Upon 
random checks by the Registrar of Motor Vehicles. 

 

• ANY DRIVER OR OWNER WHO FAILS TO SHOW PROOF OF INSURANCE OR OTHER COVERAGE WILL: • Lose his or her driver license until requirements are met on 
first offense, ONE YEAR on second offense and TWO YEARS on additional offenses • Lose his or her license plates and vehicle registration •  Pay reinstatement fees of 
$100.00 for first offense, $300.00 for second offense, $600.00 for third and subsequent offenses • Pay a $50.00 penalty for any failure to surrender his or her driver license, 
license plates, or registration AND • Be required to maintain special FR coverage (“High-risk” insurance or equivalent) on file with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) for 
THREE or FIVE YEARS. 

 

• ONCE THIS SUSPENSION IS IN EFFECT: Any driver or owner who violates the suspension will have his or her vehicle immobilized and his or her license plates confiscated 
for at least 30 DAYS first offense and 60 DAYS second offense. For third or subsequent offenses, the vehicle will be forfeited and sold and the person will not be permitted to 
register any motor vehicle in Ohio for FIVE YEARS. 

 

• IF YOU ARE INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITHOUT INSURANCE OR OTHER FR COVERAGE: In addition to all the penalties listed above, you may have • A 
SECURITY SUSPENSION for TWO YEARS or more and • A JUDGMENT SUSPENSION INDEFINITELY (until all damages have been satisfied).  

 

• THESE PENALTIES ARE IN ADDITION TO ANY FINES OR PENALTIES IMPOSED BY A COURT OF LAW. 
 

• WARNING: THESE LAWS DO NOT PREVENT THE POSSIBILITY THAT YOU MAY BE INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH A PERSON WHO HAS NO INSURANCE OR 
OTHER FR COVERAGE. 

• WHEN REQUIRED, PROOF OF COVERAGE MAY BE SHOWN BY ANY OF THE FOLLOWING: • AN INSURANCE POLICY showing automobile liability insurance of at 
least $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 injury two or more persons, and $25,000 property damage • AN INSURANCE IDENTIFICATION CARD (same coverage) • A 
SURETY BOND OF $30,000 issued by any authorized surety company or insurance company • A BMV BOND SECURED BY REAL ESTATE having equity of at least 
$60,000 • A BMV CERTIFICATE FOR MONEY OR GOVERNMENT BONDS in the amount of $30,000 on deposit with the Ohio Treasurer of State • A BMV CERTIFICATE 
OF SELF-INSURANCE, available only to companies or persons who own at least twenty-six motor vehicles. 

 

I affirm that the owners (or lessees of leased vehicle) now have insurance or other proof of financial responsibility (FR coverage) covering this vehicle 
and will not operate or permit the operation of this vehicle without FR coverage; and will not be used as a commercial vehicle unless so registered. 
WARNING: Applicant giving false information is subject to prosecution R.C. 2913.42. Application must be signed by the owner(s) as named on 
Certificate of Title. 
SIGNATURE 

X 

DATE 

      
STATEMENT REQUIRED BY OHIO REVISED CODES 4503.01 AND 4503.45 
This vehicle is not the only motor vehicle registered in my name and is not my principal means of transportation. This vehicle is of special interest, being 
of special make, model, or style, and is maintained as a collector’s item, leisure pursuit, or investment. If requested, I can supply paperwork from a car 
club, auto collector, or other proof that this is a vehicle of special interest. This application is made in good faith and not to evade any law, including Ohio 
Revised Code section 3704.14, which requires vehicle emission testing in some Ohio counties. 

SIGNATURE 

X 

DATE 
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You are now permitted to donate $1.00 to the children’s Save Our Sight Program by checking the appropriate box below and adding an additional 
$1.00 to your total fees due. For more information on the children’s Save Our Sight Program, please call 1-800-755-GROW (4769). 
 

 Yes, I would like to donate to the children’s Save Our Sight Program. I have added $1.00 to the total fees due. 
 

QUALIFICATIONS FOR COLLECTOR’S PLATES AND APPLICATION 
 
“Collector’s Vehicle” means any motor vehicle or agricultural tractor or traction engine of special interest having a fair market value of one hundred 
dollars or more, whether operable or not, that is owned, operated, collected, preserved, restored, maintained or used essentially as a collector’s 
item, leisure pursuit or investment, but not as the owner’s principal means of transportation.  
 
Due to passage of supplementary legislation, additional criteria is required for the issuance of collector’s license plates. To ensure that all vehicles 
registered as collector vehicles are truly collectible, we now reference the National Automobile Dealers Association Classic, Collectible and Special 
Interest Car Appraisal Guide. If the vehicle is not listed in this guide, we do have other comparable publications that are similarly authoritative and 
include the 4th Edition Standard Catalog of American Cars 1946-1975 (Krause Publications) or The New Complete Book of Collectible Cars 1930-
1990 (Consumer Guide). Vehicle models not listed in these publications may be considered collector vehicles if the applicant obtains 
documentation from the manufacturer that the vehicle was in limited production or is in demand as a collectible vehicle at the time of application. To 
ensure every opportunity is afforded for the applicant to be granted collector’s license plates, additional consideration will be granted to applicants 
providing photographs to substantiate vehicle collectibility. 
 
IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS: 
  

1. The following items must be returned to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles to register by mail: 
A. Total amount due. Make check or money order payable to: Ohio Treasurer of State. 
B. Current OHIO vehicle registration card (if vehicle displays an Ohio license Plate) or original a Certificate of Title / Memorandum of 

Title (if vehicle does not display an Ohio license plate). You may take these documents to any Deputy Registrar to verify the 
vehicle information for a fee of $3.50.  

C. Completed and signed application. 
2. Mail to: Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Attn: Special Plates Unit, P.O. Box 16521, Columbus, Ohio 43216-6521. 
  Phone: (614) 752-7518 
3. Please allow approximately four weeks for processing of your application. Failure to follow instructions will delay the  
  processing of your application. 
4. If your current registration expires within 90 days, your application will be held so that new license plates can be issued during your 

month of registration. 
5. If your current vehicle registration is valid more than 100 days there will be an “exchange” issued and the permissive tax and license fee 

will not be required. SEE CHART BELOW 
6. Fees must be included with the application. If you have questions regarding fees please call (614) 752-7518. Please refer to Web site 

http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/fees_for_services.stm for other fee services. 
 

 

INDICATE YOUR CHOICES TO REQUEST RESERVED OR PERSONALIZED COLLECTOR’S PLATES 
If you want stock plates (preassigned numbers only), DO NOT submit choices. 
 

The first available choice will be assigned. When possible, a substitute assignment will be made. There is a MAXIMUM of 7 characters 
on license plates with up to two spaces permitted for personalized character combinations. Leave a box empty to indicate a space for 
reserved / personalized plates. Dashes, symbols and punctuation marks cannot be used. Inappropriate requests will not be issued. 

 

FIRST CHOICE  SECOND CHOICE 

                                 

   

THIRD CHOICE 

 

FOURTH CHOICE 

                                

 
MEANING OF PLATE(S) REQUESTED (Inappropriate requests will not be issued) 

      

 

FEES FOR ALL TYPES OF PLATES LISTED BELOW ARE REQUIRED ANNUALLY IN ADDITION TO BASIC REGISTRATION FEES. 
 

RESERVED $25.00 
Standard manufacturing procedures do not permit a choice of spacing for reserved license plates.  
 

LETTERS MAY NOT BE USED IN THE MIDDLE OF NUMBERS. 
THREE LETTERS ONLY 
THREE LETTERS BEFORE OR AFTER 1 THRU 9 
ONE LETTER BEFORE AND AFTER 1 THRU 99999 
ONE LETTER BEFORE OR AFTER 1 THRU 999999 

TWO LETTERS ONLY 
TWO LETTERS BEFORE OR AFTER 1 THRU 99999 
NUMBERS ONLY 28801 THRU 999999 
 

PERSONALIZED $50.00 
Personalized license plates must contain no less than four letters and no more than seven letters or combination of four letters with numbers. 
Only two spaces are allowed if your choice contains 7 characters, three spaces are allowed with 6 characters. 

 


