
Firefighter Training Bill (House Bill 401) 
 

  
 Governor Bob Taft signed the Firefighter Training Bill (House Bill 401) on January 4, 2007.  The 
Ohio Fire Alliance worked very diligently to get the bill passed in this past session.  With the signing of the 
bill, it will become effective on April 4, 2007.   Within the bill, the Division of EMS will have 12 months 
to develop the rules and get through the JCARR process.  The Firefighter and Fire Safety Inspector 
Training Committee and the Division of EMS have been drafting the rules and will continue to draft rules 
to comply with the Firefighter Training Bill.  A summary of the bill and regulatory authority that the 
Firefighter and Fire Safety Inspector Training Committee will need to concentrate on listed below. 
 
Summary of the Firefighter Training Bill 
 
● Provides for the certification of individuals to teach fire service training programs and continuing 

education classes, and for the issuing of fire training certificates to practice as a firefighter, as a fire 
safety inspector, or in another position of any fire training certification level approved by the Executive 
Director of the Division of EMS. 

 
● Requires the Executive Director of the EMS Board, with the advice and counsel of the Firefighter and 

Fire Safety Inspector Training Committee, to adopt rules for: 
 
  ◘ Chartering the fire service training programs; 
  ◘ Issuance of instructor certificates to teach in those programs; 
  ◘ Issuance of fire training certificates to practice as a firefighter, as a fire safety inspector, or in 

   another position of any fire training certification level; 
◘ Disciplinary action on specified grounds against certificate holders and chartered entities, 
   including, but not limited to, the potential imposition of fines of up to $1,000 and certificate or 
   Charter suspensions or revocations.   
 

● Establishes in Ohio Revised Code the part-time paid firefighter which will be defined in rule. 
 
● The 36 hour volunteer firefighter training standards remains unchanged. 
 
 
Chartering and Certification Rules 
 
● The Executive Director, advice and counsel of the Committee, shall adopt rules to provide for 
   classification and chartering of  fire service training programs.  The rules that will be adopted under the  
   bill is: 
 
 ◘ Requirements and procedures for chartering of training programs; 
 ◘ Requirements and procedures for obtaining and renewing an instructor certificate to teach; 
 ◘ Requirements and procedures for obtaining and renewing fire training certificates; 
 ◘ Grounds and procedures for suspending, revoking, restricting, or refusing to issue or renew any  
                  of the certificates or charters, which grounds would be limited to one of the following: 
 
  ▪ Failure to satisfy the education or training requirement; 
  ▪ Conviction of a felony offense; 
  ▪ Conviction of a misdemeanor of moral turpitude; 
  ▪ Conviction of a misdemeanor committed in the course of practice; 
  ▪ In the case of a chartered training program or applicant, failure to meet standards 

  adopted in rules; 
  ▪ Grounds and procedures for imposing and collecting fines on charters and certificate 

   holder; 
   



▪ Continuing education requirements for certificate holders including requirements that 
                               credit must be granted for in service training programs conducted by local entities; 
    ▪ Procedures for considering the granting of extension or exemption of fire service 
     continuing education requirements; 
  ▪ Certification cycles for which certificates and charters will be valid. 
 
 
Certification and Charters: Issuance and Renewal 
 
● Issuance and Renewal of the following certificates: 
  
 ◘ Charters; 

◘ Firefighters; 
 ◘ Fire Safety Inspector; 
 ◘ Fire Instructor; 
 ◘ Fire Safety Inspector Instructor; 
 ◘ Any other certification as approved; 
 
● May take disciplinary action against the following certificates: 
   
 ◘ Charters; 

◘ Firefighters; 
 ◘ Fire Safety Inspector; 
 ◘ Fire Instructor; 
 ◘ Fire Safety Inspector Instructor; 
 ◘ Any other certification as approved; 
 
Date for Rules Adoption and Phase-in for Certification Renewal 
 
The adoption of the rules mandates within 12 months after its effective date the rules must be established.  
The Executive Director also must phase-in the renewal of current certificate over a 12 month period 
following the rules effective date. 
 
  
 


