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COLLEGE STUDENTS REMINDED OF OHIO’S DRINKING LAWS 
 
(Columbus) – This week, colleges throughout the state will begin welcoming students back to 
their campuses. For some students, this may be their first time away from parents. Between the 
house parties, bars and tailgating, these first few weeks on campus are exciting and often a 
catalyst for underage drinking. 
 
“Our college campuses have a wonderful and exciting atmosphere in the fall, but we hope our 
students enjoy this time safely,” said Ohio Investigative Unit (OIU) Executive Director Robert 
Booker. “We know alcoholic beverages will be consumed, we just ask that if you are legally not 
permitted to drink alcohol, don’t. Also, if you are 21 or older, do not purchase or supply alcohol to 
someone who is not yet old enough.” 
 
Anyone convicted of attempting to purchase alcohol as a minor, sharing in the cost, using false 
identification or furnishing alcohol to a minor may face a maximum sentence of six months in jail 
and/or a $1,000 fine.  
 
Students may also be charged for public intoxication. If convicted of a minor misdemeanor for 
public intoxication, individuals may be fined $100. If convicted of a fourth-degree misdemeanor for 
public intoxication, the penalty may be 30 days in jail and/or a $250 fine. 
 
Liquor permit establishments located near college campuses should be on the lookout for 
underage individuals attempting to purchase beer – often with a false identification. Clerks should 
also look out for individuals 21 and older purchasing alcohol for a person who is not yet 21. In 
Ohio, it is illegal to share in the cost of alcoholic beverages with a minor - or attempt to do so, even 
if the sale is refused.   
 
Whether an individual is arrested by local law enforcement or agents with the Investigative Unit, 
that information will be part of his/her criminal record. Many colleges use the arrest data from OIU 
and other jurisdictions to open judiciary reviews on students, even if the arrest takes place at or 
near other campuses.  
 
OIU agents are plain-clothed, fully-sworn peace officers. Each agent carries a badge and proper 
OIU identification. If an individual is criminally charged with a violation by an OIU agent, they may 
be issued a summons-in-lieu of arrest or transported to jail. 
 

# # # 
 
The Ohio Investigative Unit is a division of the Ohio Department of Public Safety. Agents are undercover 
sworn peace officers who enforce the state’s liquor and tobacco laws, as well as food stamp fraud. 
Individuals who believe alcohol or tobacco laws are being violated or food stamp fraud is being committed 
are encouraged to contact OIU toll-free at 1-877-4MINORS. All complaints will remain anonymous. 


