As parents, you are naturally
concerned about the safety, health
and development of your children.

We are too.

A parent's attitude and behavior

toward alcohol, much like attitudes

and behaviors about other issues,
may influence the attitudes and
behaviors of children.

We need YOUR help to
protect Ohio's children...

M Talk to your children about
alcohol and the law.

M Be at home when your children
have a party, and do not provide
alcohol or allow drinking.

M Contact law enforcement if you
are aware of underage persons

purchasing or consuming alcohol.

M Report establishments that
sell alcohol to those under 21
by dialing #677 or e-mailing:
ADOIUCent@dps.ohio.gov.

If you have any questions about
alcohol and the law, call the
Ohio Investigative Unit at

(614) 644-2415

A Component of the Ohio State Highway Patrol

Ohio Investigative Unit
Ohio Department of Public Safety
P.O. Box 182081
Columbus, Ohio 43218-2081

www.oiu.ohio.gov
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Do Your
Teenager’s
Friends Drink

in Your Home?




A Component of the Ohio State Highway Patrol

You should know...

You cannot give alcohol to your 5

children’s friends under 21.years
of age — even in your own home
with their parent’s permission.

\ |

Nor can you knowingly allow
anyone under 21 to remain in your é\ - *

home or on your property while 5
they possess or consume alcoholic

beverages.

If you do, you are
breaking the law!

If so, you are :
breaking the law!

What this means to you...

If you are convicted of providing
alcohol to a person under 21 years
of age, the maximum sentence is:

6 months in jail and/or 1|

$1,000 fine =
Officers can take any alcohol, -
money or property (refrigerator, hl

furniture, stereos, etc.) used to
commit any offense.

YOU MAY NOT GET IT BACK!

Others can sue you if you provide
alcohol to anyone under 21 and
they, in turn, damage property or
injure or kill someone.

You may lose time and money for:
o attorney fees/lawsuits

e court appearances and costs
 jail term

 fines

« higher insurance rates
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Why do we have
these laws?
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Teenage drinking often leads to fights,
vandalism, drunk driving and other
dangerous behavior.

Alcohol abuse can interfere with
emotional and social growth and often
leads to failure in school.

.l Alcohol dependency can develop

rapidly for those under 21, often in

. less than a year. Studies indicate

parents often times do not find out
for at least another year.

Legally, parents can give
alcohol to their own
children who'are
under the age of 21.
Ohio Reyised Code
Section 4301.69




