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OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

 

APPLICATION FOR REMOVABLE WINDSHIELD PLACARD FOR 
ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY / VETERANS WITH DISABILITIES 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

Note: Placard must be hung on the rear view mirror when the vehicle is parked. Remove placard when driving. 

 
 A veteran must submit the following items to qualify for gratis veteran disability placard: 

1. A letter, dated within one (1) year, from the Department of Veteran’s Affairs indicating that the applicant’s 
disability is service-related, as defined in Ohio Revised Code (R.C.) 4503.44. 

2. Sections A and B of this form completed (page 2) 
3. Either a prescription written by the applicant’s health care provider or section C of the form completed by 

health care provider. 
 If you need to contact the Department of Veteran’s Affairs, the toll free number is (800) 827-1000.  
 
 An active duty military member must submit the following to qualify for a gratis disability placard: 

1. Sections A and B of this form completed (page 2) 
2. Either a prescription written by the applicant’s health care provider or section C of the form completed by 

health care provider. 
3. Current Department of Defense convalescent leave statement or other documentary evidence supporting 

that the person currently has an ill or injured casualty status or has limited duties. 
 
PAYMENT: NO FEE FOR VETERANS OR ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY MEMBERS. 
 
RETURN PROMPLTY: Applicants may take completed application to any local Deputy Registrar Agency or mail to the Ohio 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles/Registration Support Services, P.O. Box 16521, Columbus, Ohio 43216-6521. For additional 
information, call: Registration Support Services (614) 752-7518 or go to www.bmv.ohio.gov. 

Note: Please allow 10-15 business days for processing if mailed. 

FINES AND PENALTIES 

In accordance with R.C. 4511.69, no person shall stop, stand, or park a motor vehicle at special clearly marked parking locations 
provided in or on privately owned parking lots, parking garages, or parking areas designated for persons with disabilities without the 
vehicle being operated by or transporting such person and displaying a disability placard or special license plates. Whoever violates this 
section is guilty of a misdemeanor. The fine is at least $250.00, but not more than $500.00, is not punishable with imprisonment, and is 
not a criminal offense. 
 
In accordance with R.C. 4731.481 and R.C. 4734.161, no health care provider shall furnish a prescription to a person to enable the 
person to obtain a disability placard or special license plates if they do not meet the criteria in R.C. 4503.44. Nor shall any health care 
provider provide the person with a prescription misrepresenting the expected length of disability. These offenses are misdemeanors of 
the first degree and are punishable by imprisonment of not more than six (6) months, a fine of not more than $1,000, or both, and 
sanctions by the State Medical Board, the Chiropractic Examining Board or the Board of Nursing respectively. 
 
In accordance with R.C. 4503.44, no person or organization shall misrepresent themselves as eligible for a disability placard or special 
license plates if they are not eligible according to the guidelines of this section. The penalty for this offense is confiscation of the placard 
or license plates and the revocation of privileges to obtain a disability placard or special license plates. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/
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SECTION A 

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 
NAME OF PERSON WITH A DISABILITY 

      

DL / ID / SSN OF PERSON WITH A DISABILITY 

      
STREET ADDRESS 

      

CITY 

      
STATE 

      

 

ZIP CODE 

      
COUNTY 

      
TELEPHONE NUMBER 

      

SIGNATURE OF PERSON WITH A DISABILITY, NEXT OF KIN OR CARE PROVIDER 

X 

DATE SIGNED 

      

SECTION B 

INDICATE TYPE OF PLACARD REQUESTED. 

 New Placard 
 

 Replacement 
 Replacement reason  Damaged  Lost  Stolen 
 

 Additional Placard, Please list the reason             
 

 Renewal (Do not apply more than 90 days prior to expiration date.) 
 

Previous Placard Number          (Applies only to renewal or replacement.) 
 

R.C. 4503.44 allows an applicant to obtain one (1) disability placard. One (1) additional placard may be issued at the discretion 
of the Registrar. Therefore the applicant must state separately the reason why the additional placard is necessary. 
 

You may make a non-refundable donation to Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities (OOD) by checking the box below 
and entering the amount you wish to donate. Add this to your total fees due. For more information, please visit 
https://ood.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/ood/about-us/resources/donations-to-ood. 
 

 I would like to donate $          to the Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities Agency. 

CERTIFICATION FOR PRESCRIPTION (R.C. 4503.44) 

1. Cannot walk two hundred feet without stopping to rest. 
 

2. Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, 
cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or 
other assistive device.  

 

3. Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the 
person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one (1) 
second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one (1) 
liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty 
millimeters of mercury on room air at rest. 

4. Uses portable oxygen. 
 

5. Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s 
functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or 
Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart 
Association. 

 

6. Is severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, 
neurological, or orthopedic condition. 
 

7. Is blind, legally blind, or severely visually impaired. 

THE PRESCRIPTION MUST STATE THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION 

Original prescriptions required (copies are not accepted) 

1.  Name of the person with the disability. 
 

2. Indicate you are applying for a disability placard or 
similar wording. 

 

3. The health care provider must sign and date the 
prescription. Pursuant to R.C. 4503.44(A)(3), health 
care provider means “a physician, physician 
assistant, advanced practice nurse, optometrist, or 
chiropractor as defined in this section.” 

 

4.  How long the disability is expected to last. The health care 
provider must specify an ending date, not to exceed five 
years, or the prescription will be rejected. Placards expire on 
the date specified by the health care provider. 

SECTION C 
NAME OF HEALTH CARE PROVIDER 

      

LICENSE NUMBER 

      

ADDRESS 

      
CITY 

      
STATE 

 OH 
ZIP CODE 

      
EXPECTED DURATION OF DISABILITY OR PLACARD END DATE 

      

DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER 

      

I certify that the named applicant has a disability that limits or impairs the ability to walk as defined above by R.C. section 4503.44. 
SIGNATURE OF HEALTH CARE PROVIDER  

X 

DATE SIGNED 

      

Warning: Knowingly making a false statement on this form constitutes falsification, a first degree misdemeanor punishable by 
criminal fines and imprisonment, and also may result in civil liability (R.C. 2921.13).

https://ood.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/ood/about-us/resources/donations-to-ood

