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BMV OR DEPUTY USE ONLY OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

 

APPLICATION FOR DISABILITY PLACARDS 
Ohio Revised Code (R.C.) 4503.44 

 

SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS 

NOTE: A PRESCRIPTION 

FROM YOUR HEALTH CARE 

PROVIDER MUST BE 

SUBMITTED WITH THIS 

APPLICATION. 
(Instructions are on page 2.) 

PLACARD NUMBER 

      

ISSUE DATE 

      

R.C. 4503.44 allows an applicant to obtain one disability placard. A person with a disability that limits or impairs the abil ity to walk is 
entitled to request one additional placard that may be issued at the discretion of the Registrar. Consideration will be given only if the 
person applies separately for an additional placard and states the reason why the additional placard is necessary. Second placards 
are issued for an additional fee of $5.00. 

Please allow 10-15 business days for processing if form is submitted by mail. 

INDICATE TYPE OF PLACARD REQUESTED 

 New Placard - $5.00  Temporary Placard - $5.00  Organization transporting people with disabilities - $5.00 

 Replacement - $5.00 because original was:  Damaged  Lost  Stolen 

 Additional Placard - $5.00, Please list the reason       . 

 Renewal - $5.00 (Do not apply more than 90 days prior to expiration date.) 

Previous Placard Number        (Applies only to renewal or replacement.) 

You may make a non-refundable donation to Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities (OOD) by checking the box below and 
entering the amount you wish to donate. Add this to your total fees due.  

For more information, please visit https://ood.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/ood/about-us/resources/donations-to-ood. 

 I would like to donate $        to the Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities Agency. 

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE 
NAME OF PERSON WITH A DISABILITY 

      
STREET ADDRESS 

      

CITY 

      
STATE 

   
ZIP CODE 

      
COUNTY 

      

DL / ID / SSN OF PERSON WITH A DISABILITY 

      
TELEPHONE NUMBER 

      

SIGNATURE OF PERSON WITH A DISABILITY, NEXT OF KIN, OR CARE PROVIDER 

X 

DATE SIGNED 

      

APPLICATION BY AN ORGANIZATION 

This is to certify that we are a private organization or corporation or any governmental board, agency, department, division, or office, 
that, as part of its business or program, transports people with disabilities (limited or impaired ability to walk) on a regular basis in a 
motor vehicle that has not been altered for the purpose of providing it with special equipment for use by people with disabilities. 

NAME OF AUTHORIZED AGENT / OFFICER 

      
TITLE / POSITION 

      

NAME OF ORGANIZATION 

      
FEDERAL TAX ID / CHARTER NUMBER 

      

STREET ADDRESS 

      

CITY 

      
STATE 

   
ZIP CODE 

      
TELEPHONE NUMBER 

      

SERVICE PROVIDED FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 

      

SIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED AGENT / OFFICER 

X 

DATE SIGNED 

      

Warning: Knowingly making a false statement on this form constitutes falsification, a first degree misdemeanor punishable 

by criminal fines and imprisonment, and also may result in civil liability (R.C. 2921.13).

https://ood.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/ood/about-us/resources/donations-to-ood
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CERTIFICATION FOR PRESCRIPTION (R.C. 4503.44) 

1. Cannot walk two hundred feet without stopping to rest. 
2. Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, 

cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair 
or other assistive device.  

3. Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the 
person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one 
second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, 
or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty millimeters of 
mercury on room air at rest. 

4. Uses portable oxygen. 
5. Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s 

functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or 
Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart 
Association. 

6. Is severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, 
neurological, or orthopedic condition. 

7. Is blind, legally blind, or severely visually impaired. 

THE PRESCRIPTION MUST STATE THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION 
Original prescriptions required (copies are not accepted) 

1. Name of the person with the disability. 
2. Indicate you are applying for a disability placard or similar 

wording. 
3. The health care provider must sign and date the prescription. 

Pursuant to R.C. 4503.44(A)(3), health care provider means 
“a physician, physician assistant, advanced practice nurse, 
optometrist, or chiropractor as defined in this section.” 

4. How long the disability is expected to last. The health care 
provider must specify an ending date, not to exceed five years, 
or the prescription will be rejected. Placards expire on the date 
specified by the health care provider. 

INSTRUCTIONS 
Note: Placard must be hung on the rear view mirror when the vehicle is parked (Ohio Administrative Code 4501:1-7-02). 

Remove placard when driving. 

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS: 

I.    TO OBTAIN A PLACARD FOR THE PERSON WITH A DISABILITY 

A. The application for the parking placard must be completed in the name of the person with a disability and signed. 

B. Proof of the disability must be submitted. 

1. Attach prescription. 

2. Prescription must state the name of the person with the disability, and that it is written for a disability placard, state how 
long the disability is expected to last and must be signed and dated by the health care provider. 

C. To apply for a replacement or one additional placard, complete the top portion of this application. A new prescription is not 
required for replacements or additional placards. Replacement and additional placards expire the same date as the initial 
placard regardless of issue date. 

D. Processing fees are $5.00 per placard. Make checks payable to, Ohio Treasurer of State. Limit two placards per person. 

E. Take completed application and fee(s) to any local Deputy Registrar agency or mail to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, 
Attn.: Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Registration Support Services, P.O. Box 16521, Columbus, Ohio 43216-6521. For 
questions or concerns regarding the application process, call (614) 752-7518. 

II.   TO OBTAIN A PLACARD FOR AN ORGANIZATION 

A. An organization may obtain a parking placard if it transports individuals with disabilities on a regular basis in a motor vehicle 
that has not been altered for the purpose of providing it with special equipment for use by people with disabilities. 

1. The bottom portion of the front of this application must be completed in the name of the organization, signed by an officer. 

2. You may obtain up to two placards per application.  

3. If your placard has been lost, stolen, or damaged, complete the bottom portion of this application. List your previous 
placard number and check the reason for replacement. A replacement placard will expire on the same date as your 
original placard. 

4. Processing fees are $5.00 per placard. Make checks payable to, Ohio Treasurer of State. 

B. Take completed application and fee(s) to any local Deputy Registrar agency or mail to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, 
Attn.: Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Registration Support Services, P.O. Box 16521, Columbus, Ohio 43216-6521. For 
questions or concerns regarding the application process, call (614) 752-7518. 

FINES AND PENALTIES 

In accordance with R.C. 4511.69, no person shall stop, stand, or park a motor vehicle at special clearly marked parking locations 
provided in or on privately owned parking lots, parking garages, or parking areas designated for people with disabilities without the 
vehicle being operated by or transporting such person and displaying a disability placard or special license plates. Whoever violates 
this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. The fine is at least $250.00, but not more than $500.00, is not punishable with imprisonment, 
and is not a criminal offense. 

In accordance with R.C. 4731.481 and 4734.161, no health care provider shall furnish a prescription to a person to enable the person 
to obtain a disability placard or special license plates if they do not meet the criteria in R.C. 4503.44. Nor shall any health care provider 
provide the person with a prescription misrepresenting the expected length of disability. These offenses are misdemeanors of the first 
degree and are punishable by imprisonment of not more than six months, a fine of not more than $1,000, or both, and sanctions by the 
State Medical Board, the Chiropractic Examining Board or the Board of Nursing respectively. 

In accordance with R.C. 4503.44, no person or organization shall misrepresent themselves as eligible for a disability placard or special 
license plates if they are not eligible according to the guidelines of this section. The penalty for this offense is confiscation of the 
placard or license plates and the revocation of privileges to obtain a disability placard or special license plates. 
 


