How to Obtain a Motorcycle
Temporary Instruction Permit
Identification Card (TIPIC)

Step 1: To help you study for the knowledge
test, be sure to pick up a Motorcycle Operator
Manual and a Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws
from any license agency, exam station or
online at www.bmv.ohio.gov.

Step 2: Proceed to any exam station to
complete the knowledge test. Be sure to bring
two forms of ID. (No cost)

Step 3: Upon successful completion of the
knowledge test, proceed to any BMV license
agency to purchase your TIPIC. Note: If you
are under 18 years of age, a parent or legal
guardian must sign permission for the TIPIC
to be issued.

TIPIC Restrictions

* Must wear a helmet & eye protection

* No passengers

* Valid daylight hours only

* No congested roadway or interstate highways

Your TIPIC 1S VALID FOR ONE YEAR
FROM THE DATE OF PURCHASE.
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Alcohol and Ohio Law

Motor vehicle operators arrested for suspected
impaired driving under Ohio law will:

» Be asked to take a sobriety test. If the test results
are .08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or
above, the operator will be charged with OVI.

* Immediately have their license taken away by
the arresting law enforcement officer and be
immediately placed under license suspension.

* Lose their driver license for at least 90 days and
will be subject to other court penalties.

Refusal to take the sobriety test will result in
automatic loss of your driver license for one full
year!

Alcohol and Motorcycling

Alcohol is a major contributor to motorcycle
collisions, particularly fatal collisions. Studies
show that 30-50% of all riders killed in motorcycle
crashes had been drinking. Only one-third of
those riders had a BAC above legal limits. The rest
had only a few drinks in their systems, enough to
impair their riding skills. Motorcyclists’ abilities are
impaired well before reaching the .08 BAC level.
Riding “under the influence” of alcohol poses
physical and legal hazards for every rider.

The following motorcycle crash statistics
were compiled by the Ohio Department of
Public Safety:
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2010 169 32.16% 48.54%
2011 165 37.00% 53.37%
2012 162 47.6% 54.01%
2013 133 28.6% 55.3%
2014 140 35.0% 55.2%
2015 163 19.6% 56.4%
2016 193 22.4% 54.0%

For More Information Contact:

mogen@dps.ohio.gov

Motorcycle Ohio

P.O. Box 182081
Columbus, Ohio 43218-2081

1-800-83-RIDER
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Dear MO Students:
We want you to be successful!

Students should be active participants and
mentally ready to learn. This course is designed
to cover all aspects of safe riding including proper
equipment, training and driving habits. Being
properly dressed for weather conditions will help
minimize stress and fatigue.

While we hope your experience is pleasant and
successful, we cannot guarantee that everyone
is going to pass the course.

Motorcycle Ohio (MO) realizes that not all
students learn at the same pace. If you are feeling
uncomfortable or feel you are falling behind, we
encourage you to speak to your instructor(s).
While the basic course is designed for beginners,
instructors may find it necessary to dismiss a
student for safety reasons and counsel them into
another course.

Skill Test Waiver

Students who successfully complete the MO BRS,
BRS-RR and BRS-2, will have the State of Ohio
skill test waived and will receive their motorcycle
endorsement/license upon presenting their TIPIC
within 60 calendar days at an Ohio BMV Deputy
Registrar location. Graduates under 18 years of
age must also comply with all Graduated Driver
License requirements.

Motorcycle Ohio Staff

Motorcycle Ohio offers the
following courses:

JBasiciCoursesifodEndorsement
andVordSkilllimprovement]

Basic Rider Skills (BRS)
+ Fee-$50

* 16-hour course
» Skill test waiver course
* No experience is needed

* Motorcycles & helmets are provided,
but students may bring their own helmet providing
Department of Transportation approved.

* Requires only a valid Temporary Instruction
Permit Identification Card (TIPIC) or a
motorcycle endorsement on your license.

» Successful completion earns the BMV skill test
waiver for a motorcycle endorsement within 60
calendar days of course completion.

+ Students must provide their own over-the-
ankle, sturdy footwear; full-fingered gloves;
long sleeved shirt or jacket; and long pants.

* Ataminimum, each BRS student must be able
to ride a bicycle.

+ Allcourse times / dates are subject to change.

Basic Rider Skills Returning Rider
(BRS-RR)

+ Fee-$50
 Skill test waiver course

» 8-hour course for those over 18 years of age
who have been riding with a temporary permit
for longer than one year.

* Requires demonstration of basic motorcycle
handling skills to continue.

« For riders who are starting to ride after an
extended time away from riding.

* Motorcycles & helmets are provided, but
students may bring their own helmet providing
Department of Transportation approved.

* Requires only a valid Temporary Instruction
Permit Identification Card (TIPIC) or a motorcycle
endorsement on your license.

» Successful completion earns the BMV skill test
waiver for a motorcycle endorsement within 60
calendar days of course completion.

+ Students must provide their own over-the-ankle,
sturdy footwear; full-fingered gloves; long
sleeved shirt or jacket; and long pants.

» All course times / dates are subject to change.

Basic Rider Skills 2 (BRS-2)
* Fee - $50

» 7-hour, one-day, range-only course (no formal
classroom session)

» Use your own 2-wheeled street legal motorcycle.

» Passengers permitted only for riders with a
motorcycle license or endorsement.

* Requires a valid Temporary Instruction Permit
Identification Card (TIPIC) or motorcycle license
or endorsement.

» Successful completion earns the BMV skill test
waiver for a motorcycle endorsement.
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Advanced Rider Skills (ARS)
» Fee - $50
* 9-hour, one-day course

+ The ARS complements an experienced rider’s
basic skills and helps with personal risk
assessment.

* Requires motorcycle license or endorsement
* Use your own 2-wheeled motorcycle
* No co-riders are permitted in the ARS.

» Students must provide their own over-the-ankle,
sturdy footwear; full-fingered gloves; long sleeved
shirt or jacket; long pants, and DOT approved
helmet.

 All course times / dates are subject to change.

How to Obtain a Motorcycle
License or Endorsement

Step 1: With your motorcycle Temporary
Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC),
contact a driver license exam station to make an
appointment or visit www.ohiodrivingtest.com for the
skills test. No fee is charged for this test.

Step 2: You must bring a street-legal motorcycle
to the exam site and wear a DOT approved
helmet and eye protection during the test.

*

If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must show
proof of completing a driver education course
and a motorcycle safety education course
before you are eligible to take the skills test to
obtain a motorcycle license or endorsement.
If you are 18 years old or older, you are not
required to complete either course to take
the skills test. Contact Motorcycle Ohio
(1-800-83-RIDER) to take a motorcycle safety
education course.

Step 3: After all required tests are passed,
proceed to the Deputy Registrar with your TIPIC
and driver license.

Visit www.bmv.ohio.gov for more details.

Note: Motorcycle Ohio course graduates will
have the State of Ohio skills test waived upon
successful completion of the BRS, BRS-RR and
BRS-2. Novice riders are required to wear a DOT
approved helmet for the first year of licensure. Visit
www.motorcycle.ohio.gov for more details on the
safety course.

To receive a waiver of the state motorcycle skills
test, you must present your TIPIC to a Deputy
Registrar at the Ohio BMV within 60 days of
course completion. Graduates under 18 years
of age must meet all Graduated Driver Licensing
requirements.



