Web Content Viewer
Actions

Digital Driver Permit Packet

Close up of a male driver holding a mobile phone while driving.

You’re ready to drive! Now what???

How do I get my “temps” or temporary instruction permit?

How to Obtain a Temporary Permit

Student taking the multiple-choice knowledge test.At age 15 years and six months, you are eligible to apply for a temporary instruction permit identification card (TIPIC). Applicants must pass both a knowledge test and vision screening.

 

The knowledge test is 40 multiple-choice questions about motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs. Applicants must answer 75 percent of the questions correctly to pass. Download the Ohio Digest of Motor Vehicles to learn about motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs.

You may complete the knowledge test online at Ohio BMV - Online Services or in person at any Ohio BMV driver exam station, where you will also complete the vision screening. If testing online, the vision screening will be performed at any Ohio BMV deputy registrar license agency at the time of purchasing the temporary permit.

If you choose to test in person, you must bring acceptable identity documents that provide proof of your:

  • Full legal name
  • Date of birth
  • Social Security number (if assigned)

Purchasing Your Temporary Permit (TIPIC)

Once the knowledge test and vision screening are passed (the deputy registrar will conduct the vision screening if you took your knowledge test online), you may proceed to a deputy registrar license agency to purchase a TIPIC within 60 days of passing the test.

If you are under 18 years old and unemancipated, you must be accompanied by a responsible person who is willing to assume the obligation imposed under section 4507.07 of the Ohio Revised Code. The responsible person must present identification (driver license or ID card) to co-sign for the TIPIC.

You must bring acceptable identity documents that provide proof of your:

  • Full legal name
  • Date of birth
  • Social Security number (if assigned)
  • Ohio residency
  • Citizenship or legal presence

What can I do once I have my permit?

  • Once you have your permit, if you are under 18, register for driver education. (See the next tab to find out  how to find a school!)
  • Drivers must carry the temporary permit at all times when driving.
  • If under age 16, drivers must have a parent, guardian or licensed driving instructor in the passenger seat when driving.
  • If the driver is age 16 or older, driving with any valid licensed driver over the age of 21 in the passenger seat is permitted, except from midnight – 6 a.m., when the driver must be accompanied by a parent, guardian, custodian, or a licensed driver 21 years or older named on a notarized BMV 2438.
  • Boy learning to drive, in driver seatThe parent, guardian, custodian, or licensed driver 21 years or older named on a notarized BMV 2438, in the passenger seat shall not be intoxicated.
  • All passengers and driver must wear safety belts.
  • If you are under 18, you must hold a temporary instruction permit for at least six months before you obtain a driver license.

How do I find a driving school?

Under Ohio law, a driver aged 16 or 17 must have a minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction in driver training in order to obtain a driver license.

Students may take the 24 hours of education either in person at a driver training school or through an online program. The behind-the-wheel training must be completed at a traditional driving school (in-person). Students also must complete at least 50 hours of in-car practice (10 hours of which must be at night) with a parent or legal guardian. More information on the in-car practice is available in this Teaching Your Teen to Drive resource.

Map of Ohio

The Ohio Department of Public Safety licenses and regulates driving schools, including basic teen driver education programs. Driving schools are inspected regularly for compliance with Ohio rules and regulations.

Online driver education providers go through a process that includes a review of security measures, written content and curriculum, and actual student experience to ensure minimum standards are met. Once a program achieves an acceptable rating in all areas of the review process, it is licensed as an Online Driver Education Program in Ohio.

To find a driver training school, use our online tool to search for an Ohio-approved provider by type of school or county.

I completed driver training. How do I schedule my driving test and what do I need to bring?

Car next to orange training coneOnce you are confident with your capabilities and all requirements have been met, a road test can be scheduled. You can schedule a driving test online.

When you take your test, you must bring your temporary permit and driver education certificate, if you are under 18 at the time of your driving test. You must also must bring a vehicle in good condition for completing the test. An inspection will be performed before the test begins, then the examiner will join you in your car for your test.

The road test has two parts: driving and maneuverability. During the driving test the following will be performed:

  • Stop and start
  • Turn around and back up
  • Perform turns
  • Use vehicle turn signals
  • Drive in the correct lane
  • Maintain a safe following distance

The maneuverability test has two parts:

  • Forward through markers
  • Backwards through markers

More information on the maneuverability test is available on the BMV’s website.

If you fail your driving skills test, you must wait seven days before retesting.

I passed my driving test! What are the financial responsibility requirements to get my license?

Girl driving vehicle and looking rightIn Ohio, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without insurance or other financial responsibility (FR) coverage. It is also illegal for any motor vehicle owner to allow anyone else to drive the owner’s vehicle without FR coverage. Liability insurance pays for damage caused by you and suffered by the other party for personal injury, death or property damage. Check with your insurance agent to see if you have the proper coverage. You need coverage of at least $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 injury for two or more persons and $25,000 property damage.

When Required, FR Coverage may be Shown by:

  • The insurance policy
  • An insurance identification card (same coverage as policy)
  • A surety bond of $30,000 issued by any authorized surety company
  • An Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) bond secured by real estate having equity of at least $60,000
  • A BMV certificate for money or government bonds in the amount of $30,000 on deposit with the Ohio Treasurer of State
  • A BMV certificate of self-insurance, available only to companies or persons who own at least 26 motor vehicles

You are required by law to show FR coverage:

  • Whenever a police officer issues a traffic ticket
  • At all vehicle inspection stops
  • Upon traffic court appearances

For more about Auto Insurance for Young Drivers, visit https://insurance.ohio.gov/consumers/automobile/auto-insurance-young-drivers.

I am finally ready. How do I get my license? What’s next for me?

Girl holding her new driver licenseAfter passing the road and maneuverability tests, you must go to a deputy registrar license agency  to be issued a driver license. At that point, you will surrender your temporary permit.

Congratulations! You now have your Probationary Driver License!  While this is something to be proud of and will bring a new level of freedom, there are certain restrictions that apply since you are under 18. These restrictions for anyone under 18 are:

  • For the first full year after getting your license:
    • You are prohibited from driving between midnight and 6 a.m., unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, or unless you are driving
      • to or from work
      • to or from an official church function
      • to or from a school activity, or
      • in an emergency situation.
    • Within the first year, you may not drive with more than one person who is not a family member unless accompanied by a parent, guardian or legal custodian.
    • Seatbelt use is mandatory for all passengers.
  • If you have held your probationary license for more than one year, but are still not 18 years old:
    •  you are prohibited from driving between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m., unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, with the same exceptions as above
    • the number of occupants in the vehicle is limited to the total number of originally installed safety belts.
    • Seatbelt use is mandatory for all passengers.

Once you turn 18, these time and passenger restrictions end. At that point, your license is considered an unrestricted license.

Remember, teens under the age of 18 are not permitted to use any type of mobile communication device while driving. This means you cannot text or talk even at stop signs or red lights. You can be pulled over and ticketed for this. 

What other resources do I need or important information do I need to know?

Traffic crashes are the leading cause of death for teenagers in America. On average, a teen dies in a traffic crash about once every hour on weekends and nearly once every two hours during the week. Mile for mile, teenagers are involved in three times as many fatal crashes as all other drivers.

Research shows which behaviors contribute to teen-related crashes. Inexperience and immaturity combined with speed, drinking and driving, not wearing safety belts, distracted driving (cell phone use, loud music, other teen passengers, etc.), nighttime driving and other drug use aggravate the teen traffic crash problem.

Safety Belts

Wearing a safety belt is the most effective way to prevent serious injuries and reduce fatalities in motor vehicle crashes. Ohio law requires all vehicle occupants to wear a safety belt when the driver holds a temporary permit or probationary license, yet teenage drivers and passengers are among those least likely to wear safety belts. Typically, more than 50 percent of teens killed in motor vehicle crashes are unrestrained at the time of the crash. Failing to buckle up contributes to more fatalities than any other single traffic safety-related behavior.

Legal Drinking Age

If you are under 21 and drink alcohol, you are already breaking the law. Ohio’s legal drinking age is 21 for everyone. Don’t compound your problems by drinking and driving. When teens drive after drinking alcohol, they are more likely than adults to be in a crash, even when drinking less alcohol than adults.

Suspensions

Your temporary permit or probationary license may be suspended if:

  • You are convicted of multiple moving violations or any alcohol-related offense. A driver under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content level of .02 to .07 will also face penalties under a charge called Operating a Vehicle after Underage Alcohol Consumption (OVUAC).
  • You are convicted of presenting a false, fictitious or altered I.D. or driver license when purchasing beer or liquor.
  • You are suspended or expelled from school for using or possessing drugs or alcohol. 
  • You miss 10 consecutive days or 15 total days of school in one semester or term without a legitimate excuse.
  • You drop out of school.

Parent Information and Resources

As a parent, you play a crucial role in insuring your teenager is prepared to drive safely. Teens will learn much of this content in driver education, but it’s through parent conversations and their home environment that the lessons are driven home and the rules enforced. Before you hand over the keys, have conversations with your teen drivers about the important rules they need to follow to stay safe behind the wheel.  

Even if you think they aren’t listening, they are.

Self-reported surveys show that teens whose parents set firm rules for driving typically engaged in less risky driving behaviors and were involved in fewer crashes. Consider entering into a driving agreement with your teen driver. This can help set expectations for your new driver and reinforce important safety practices. A sample agreement, as well as example lessons for practice hours, can be found in this Teaching Your Teen to Drive resource.

Additional information and resources for parents can also be found on the Teach Your Teen to Drive webpage.