Web Content Viewer

New Driver Safety

New Driver Safety

Temporary Permit

Beginning at age 15 years and six months, an applicant may go to any driver exam station to take the knowledge and vision screening to begin the temporary permit process.

Once a driver is issued a temporary instruction permit identification card (TIPIC), he or she can practice driving only if accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

Learn more.

Parental Involvement

Parents and guardians are key factors to teen driver safety. Visit the Teach Your Teen To Drive website for Ohio requirements, resources, and other educational information to help your teen.

Find a School

Ohio law mandates that a young driver under age 18 receive a minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction in driver training. Students may take the 24 hours of education through an online program, but must complete behind-the-wheel training at a traditional driving school. Students also must complete at least 50 hours of in-car practice (10 at night) with a parent or legal guardian.

Driving schools also provide training options for adult drivers including abbreviated adult, mature driver and commercial driver training programs.

Find a driving school.

Schedule a Driver Test

Once a driver is confident with their capabilities and all requirements have been met, a road test can be scheduled. The applicant must present his or her TIPIC, and if under age 18, the applicant must present a driver education certificate. Applicants also must provide a vehicle in good condition for testing. An inspection will be performed before the test begins. The road test has two parts: driving and maneuverability.

Learn more.

Schedule a test online.

Abbreviated Adult Driver Training Course

An applicant for an initial driver’s license, who is age 18 or older and who fails the first attempt at the maneuverability or road portion of the driving test, is required to take an abbreviated adult driver training course before attempting the driving test for a second time.

Learn more.

Find a training course.

Distracted Driver Course

For traffic offenders who plead guilty or are convicted of a specific traffic violation while distracted, this Ohio Department of Public Safety distracted driver course is available in lieu of paying the enhanced court fine of $100 or less, providing the offender pays the total amount of the fine established by the violation and submits written evidence of completion of the distracted driver course.

The one-hour course discusses what distracted driving is, who is a distracted driver, cell phone distractions, the risks and consequences of driving distracted, and combating distracted driving.

Distracted Driver Course.