Web Content Viewer
2020 Ohio Hall of Fame Fire Service and Ohio Fire Awards Program Nominations

Ohio’s Fire Service:

Once again, the Ohio Department of Public Safety, Division of EMS and the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of State Fire Marshal are partnering to honor fire service members for exemplary service to their communities.

We are pleased to provide an opportunity for firefighters, family members, and friends to honor the sacrifices made every day by Ohio’s firefighters and educators. Whether it is the time necessary to train in the latest firefighting techniques or time putting those skills to use, the men and women who sacrifice for the safety of others will be recognized. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we will not have our large traditional gathering, but rather plan individual ceremonies, arranged with each recipient's fire department in accordance with Ohio's current guidelines for group gatherings at the time.

Division of EMS awards include:

Ohio Fire Department of the Year

Ohio Fire Service Instructor of the Year

Ohio Fire Officer of the Year

Ohio Fire Prevention Educator of the Year

Ohio Fire Educator Lifetime Achievement Award


Division of State Fire Marshal awards include: 


Ohio Fire Service Citizen’s Award 

Ohio Fire Service First Responder Award 

Ohio Fire Service Valor Award 

Ohio Fire Service Distinguished Service Award 

William L. Howard Public Service Award 

Nomination packets can be found at: https://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/fire_NominateHallofFame.pdf and will be accepted until June 22, 2020. 

Nominations can be emailed to websfm@com.state.oh.us or EMSFireEducation@dps.ohio.gov or sent by mail to:

Division of State Fire Marshal

Attn: Tonia Smith

8895 East Main Street

Reynoldsburg, OH, 43068