The Ohio Department of Public Safety licenses and regulates driving schools as outlined in the Ohio Revised Code. Schools include basic teen and adult driver education programs, driver training for persons with disabilities, remedial and commercial driver license programs.
Parents & Teens
Ohio’s Graduated Driver License law mandates that a young driver receives a minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction in driver training.
Teen Driving Schools and Online Courses
Students may take the 24 hours of education through a traditional or online program, but must complete behind-the-wheel training at a traditional driving school. Online providers go through a review process to ensure minimum standards are met.
Juvenile Driver Improvement Programs
The Juvenile Driver Improvement Program is a six-hour course for teens who have received a second or third traffic conviction. In addition, state law provides juvenile traffic offenders an opportunity to take a state-approved advanced juvenile driver improvement program and petition the judge at a sentencing hearing with their AJDIP certificate.
Driver training options for adult drivers include abbreviated adult, mature driver and commercial driver training.
Abbreviated Adult Programs
An applicant for an initial driver license, who is age 18 or older and who fails the first attempt at the maneuverability or road portion of the driving test, is required to take an abbreviated adult driver training course before attempting the driving test for a second time.
Mature Driver Programs
Mature driver courses update older drivers on new laws and practices in the ever-changing driving environment. A certificate issued at the completion of the program may allow a driver, at least 60 years of age and older, to receive a discount on their insurance (rate of discount determined by the insurance company).
Commercial Driver License (CDL) Programs
Commercial Driver License (CDL) programs train drivers interested in the commercial trucking industry.